Daily Archives: April 16, 2014

Race for the Cure

Everyone who knows me knows that I am not a runner. But my father and husband are, and my kids may turn out to be runners as well. I hope they do. I certainly want to give them the opportunity to be runners if they want to be.

So this past Saturday, we all laced up our sneakers and ran the Susuan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K! Raymond ran an unofficial personal best time of 24:58, and despite starting allllllll the way at the back of the pack, Lola Gray finished not long after him!! We aren’t sure when Fletcher finished, since we “misplaced” him at the finish line for at least 30 minutes, but he was happy as a clam so that’s all that matters. And I got to take a leisurely stroll with my oldest and dearest friend. Not a bad day at all.

Lola truly seems to have the running bug, so I think we will look for another 5K for her pretty soon – one where she can get an official time. Then I can stand on the side and yell “Run, Lola, Run!” One of these days she might actually get that reference . . .