A day at the beach

Kids are heading back to school. Stores are overflowing with Halloween decorations (already! Does that seem nuts to anyone else??) But it is still high summer here and we took advantage of it today with a trip to the beach. As we drove out to Tybee I pointed out, as I always do, the fishing boats on the river and the marshes. Fletcher was very quiet for a moment, then he asked me how I ended up living in Savannah when it is so far away from NayNay’s house. The kid never ceases to surprise me. I wanted to tell him that he and his sister are NEVER allowed to move that far away from me, that they have to live in Savannah forever and don’t even THINK about moving away. But I know I can’t do that, so I stuck to the facts.

We got there early, and the sky was overcast – it was actually really nice and cool, perfect for twirling on the sand. The sun didn’t hide for long, and friends Atsuko and Mina, Nicola, Linette, Tristan and Beck soon joined us. Fletcher had a great time splashing in the water and watching some older boys catch fish in a throw net. Lola Gray prefers to dig in the sand. We had a great time – perhaps we will try to go again next week!

3 responses to “A day at the beach

  1. We had a wonderful time. We are looking forward going there again next week!

    Here is slide show.
    http://www.slide.com/r/cM28MfWeqj87xKoyLKEC60teE63S61SN?previous_view=mscd_embedded_url&view=original

  2. I know how you feel about the children moving away from you–not a day goes by that that I don’t miss my children(grands and children in laws)–Why did you all move so far away–miss and love you all–f

  3. What a fun day! Can I just start linking to your posts? ; )

Leave a Reply

