Transitions

We are back from vacation, but not yet quite back on schedule. This will be a week of transitions. Raymond starts back to work tomorrow, and none of us is looking forward to him being gone. Summer story time at the library is over. So is lunch in the park. I hate the end of summer.

But I have always loved back-to-school time. Fletcher received a postcard in the mail today from his new teacher, Mrs. Hale. I have parent orientation for his new school on Thursday, and then there is an open house for the children on Friday. He will get to meet Mrs. Hale, see his new classroom and his new classmates. He and Lola Gray will both start back next Tuesday.

It is bittersweet, I guess. I know it will be good for all of us to get back on a schedule. Things have been very . . . free form this summer. I am looking forward to the weather cooling off a bit so we can be outside more – the bugs in the backyard are ferocious right now after all the rain! Soccer will be starting soon. So will the Tuesday play group in the park. We have a few camping trips planned. And Halloween is coming! I love Halloween!!! I can’t wait to decorate the house, visit the pumpkin patch, make the kids’ costumes!

OK. I’m getting ahead of myself. 🙂 Time to enjoy a few more mornings at the pool, a few more lazy afternoons playing pretending games. Fall will get here when it gets here.

Leave a Reply

