A hard week

I started back to work this week, and while things with the kids have gone pretty smoothly, it has not been an easy transition for me. I LOVED being home with them all summer – I am so lucky to be able to do that! And I know how lucky I am that even when I am back at work full-time it is only 2 days a week. Sometimes 3. But still, I am home with them a LOT. I know this. And yet it still kills me to be away from them for 2 WHOLE days. I see them for a few minutes when they wake up in the morning, and if I’m lucky they are still awake when I get home so I can kiss them goodnight and tuck them in. But that’s it. Some days they are asleep when I leave and asleep when I get home. I hate that. That’s the way it is for Raymond every day he works – he doesn’t see any of us at all. I’m not sure I could do that.

I miss them all desperately.

That said, we are still doing so much together and I need to keep my focus on that. Yesterday we had lunch at the Gerhardt’s and then, after a failed nap attempt, went swimming at the Norman’s. We also stopped and watched some men cutting tree limbs in our square. Fletcher took these photos of the action, which was apparently much more fascinating than I realized!

Leave a Reply

