To Nap or Not To Nap

Lola Gray is trying to give up her nap, and we have been fighting really hard to keep it – to the point where most days she spends an hour closed in her room pulling every book and toy off the shelves, trying on every costume and pair of shoes she can find, and making more noise than you would think possible from one very small girl. I’m generally ok with this, as it at least allows that brief period of time where we are all in separate rooms, no one is fighting, and I don’t have to talk to anyone (not that I don’t like to talk to my children, but they talk a LOT.)

Anyway, today we had lots of things to do so I thought we would just skip the nap altogether, not even try to force the issue. After school we had lunch downtown with Mel, Anina, Ollie, Linette, Tristan and Beck. Then the kids and I went to the grocery store. By the time we got home it was nearly 4pm and I guess it was just more than poor Lola Gray could handle. She had a massive meltdown over nothing, and then she fell asleep on the sofa in the playroom. I let her sleep for 30 minutes or so, then woke her up because it was already so late and I didn’t want her to be up until midnight. That wasn’t a good idea. She cried for a while and then fell back asleep on the floor!

Meanwhile, Fletcher and I played in the backyard. It was a beautiful day; finally a little relief from the heat! Lola Gray eventually woke up and joined us, and she was in a much better mood once she had slept. I guess she isn’t REALLY ready to give that nap up just yet.

Leave a Reply

