Gallery on 49th

Tonight I took Fletcher and Lola Gray to the opening of the Gallery of 49th exhibition at Charles Ellis Montessori Academy. This is the school we really hope to get Fletcher into for kindergarten – it is a public school, but even though it is only a few blocks from our house we are not in their district (neither was our old house, which was a few blocks to the other side of the school – I think their ‘district’ must only be a few blocks in its entirity!) There is a lottery to be admitted, and I really don’t know how good our odds are, but I think they are slim. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Raymond and I each have a piece in the show – the first show I have been in in a long time. I’ve been way out of the art loop lately, and I’m just now trying to get back into it. At the opening tonight, we were standing across from my piece talking to someone when suddenly Fletcher and Lola start jumping up and down excitedly and saying “Mommy Mommy Mommy!” What?? “Mommy, there’s ANOTHER one of Daddy’s pieces!” (Pointing at MY art.) Ummmm . . . no. Mommy makes art too, you know. Really? Quizzical looks on their faces. Ugh. I feel like I have been punched in the stomach. Soooooo glad we did this.

The event started to go quickly downhill from that point. It was bedtime, Fletcher was wild, Lola Gray was so exhausted she started sobbing uncontrollably. It was super crowded in the hallway and was taking forever to get anywhere. All I wanted was to be teleported back home again! And then, I saw a door that said Pre-K/Kindergarten (they have mixed age classes at Charles Ellis) so we ducked inside.

It was the most wonderful classroom I have ever been in. It was big and clean and organized but there was nothing ‘sterile’ about it. There were several low round tables scattered around the room, lots of centers for activities, reading, exploring. There was a big oval painted on the floor, and the teacher in the room told us that the children walk and hop and dance on the line. The lights were low, and it smelled wonderful. Sweet. I could have stayed in that room all night. I really want Fletcher to go to this school!

2 responses to “Gallery on 49th

  1. Things have a way of working out. He will be fine no matter where he ends up in kindergarten. Try not to think that it will be a disaster if it doesn’t work out for the Montessori school because Fletcher will pick up on that.

  2. feedingthefamily

    I know. He asked me last night if that was where he would go to school next year, and I just said I didn’t know yet. I’m trying not to make a big deal of any of it to HIM. But it is a huge deal to ME.

Leave a Reply

