“I’m not Lola Gray”

“I’m not Lola Gray.”

These are the words I hear most often from my daughter these days. I admit this is better than her old favorite phrase of “No, Mommy! No!” But still . . . it gets old.

You see, Lola Gray is not Lola Gray very often. Most of the time she is Belle or Ariel; SweetPea or Silvermist or Fauna (fairies, for those of you not familiar with such things.) Or Alice – sometimes baby Alice, sometimes “big girl” Alice. It is hard to keep up.

Fletcher plays right along, and the two of them set up elaborate  fantasy worlds where I am expected to play very specific, highly scripted, and ever changing roles. And every time I need Lola Gray to do something, to pick up her toys or get dressed or stop yelling at the top of her lungs, I get the same response. “I’m not Lola.” Ugh!

At this point I guess I should apologize to my own parents, because it seems I played this same game when I was Lola’s age. To Lola: Watch out – you may be on the other side of this game one day! And while it will make you want to pull your hair out at times I know you will love it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

