Springtime in Savannah

Yes, I kow the calendar says it is January. But the weather says Spring; no questions. The camellias are in full flower and trees are starting to bloom. I imagine the azalea won’t be far behind. The air is warm and sweet. As much as I think I miss snow . . . it is hard to argue with this.

Yesterday the children and I spent much of the day outside. I pushed them on the swings, we played in the garden, I read a magazine while they played in the playhouse. A little yellow butterfly, one that has made several apperances in recent days, danced around the yard for a very long time. We are pretty sure it is really a fairy trying to get in to the fairy door on our tree.

The first few weeks of a new school term are always a bit hard for me. Getting back into a routine is a good thing . . . but I find it so painful to walk out that door in the mornings. I wish every day could be spent chasing fairies in the back yard! I just need to remind myself how lucky I am to step between two worlds – both working mother and stay-at-home mother. And while it sometimes makes it feel like I am not fully a part of either world, I know it is absolutely the best situation to be in right now.

I have to work today. But we can chase fairies again tomorrow.

2 responses to “Springtime in Savannah

  1. Did you move the swings?

  2. feedingthefamily

    We did move the swings! They were bumping into the fence, so we moved it to the other side of the yard. Still not a perfect placement, but better.

Leave a Reply

