The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Have you ever read Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day? It is a great book. Poor Alexander, nothing goes right for him that day. Today was almost my own version of that story . . . . ok, not quite. But it had it’s moments.

The day started off beautifully: coffee with the girls – something I have come to realize is vital to my sanity. When I got in the car to pick the kids up from school, I noticed that I had a missed call on my cell – I had forgotten to take the phone off the “silent” setting that I use while I am teaching. Of course, it was the preschool. Lola Gray had an accident (ie: she was pushed) and split open her lip. On the message I think they said “There is a lot of blood. You should come get her.” By the time I got there the bleeding had stopped. She had a nice fat lip though. The swelling has gone down a bit, but she is still complaining that her tooth hurts – the same tooth she bumped last spring so it has already turned a little brown. I hope it doesn’t fall out!

So, I’m already feeling like the world’s worst mother when we go to pick up Fletcher. We were late, of course. And to top it off, his teacher tells me that he got a yellow light for biting his friend Abby. Biting! Good grief – wasn’t he supposed to grow out of that at 2??? I was mortified. Horrified. Furious. And Fletcher just doesn’t seem to get it. I don’t know what to do. If he acts like this next year in public school they are going to kick him out! Then what??

Lately it seems that my emotional stability is . . . well not that stable. The slightest little thing can just plummet my mood into the dumps. No fun at all. So I spent a few good hours making myself miserable over all of this and then, finally, I couldn’t take it any more. We headed out the front door, rode scooters down the street to the square, and spent a few good hours playing Jedi and Princess. I don’t why it always surprises me how much better I feel after getting outside – but it almost always makes me feel like I can breathe again.

   

I love taking photos of the children. It makes me feel like I am being artistic and playing with my kids at the same time. I took lots of photos today – mostly of Fletcher’s stellar Jedi moves. Of course, I had to put the camera down and have light saber battles every few minutes!

Fletcher wanted to take some photos himself, and though I was incredibly nervous about the camera, I let him. He did a great job!

Lola Gray needs to do everything Fletcher does, so she wanted her turn with the camera next. She did a great job as well! Perhaps I have 2 little shutterbugs in the making?

2 responses to “The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. I’m so sorry you had a bad day. That was a really sad picture of Lola Gray. A week from now you’ll never know it happened.

  2. They are really great pictures indeed! I’m with you about being outside. It brightens my spirits, too. We can all try to remember to put our phones on the table and not get too lost in our conversations next time! You are a great mom, Ashley. It won’t be the last time anything like that happens, trust me!

Leave a Reply

