Saying Goodbye

The Gaddy family lost it’s patriarch today. Norman Clyde Gaddy, Fletcher and Lola Gray’s only remaining Great-Grandfather, passed away this afternoon. He was 96 years old. He will be missed by his 6 children, 15 grandchildren, and 21 great-grandchildren, not to mention all of us who married into the clan. Twenty-one great-grandchildren! Can you imagine? But even with all those people, all those names to keep straight  (I certainly can’t keep them all straight!) Mr. Gaddy always asked me about MY family, always asked me about the last time I had been to Virginia. He was a special man. I’m glad I got to know him, even a little bit.

I really love this family, love the warmth and chaos of the Gaddy’s tiny little house overflowing with their children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren. I’m going to miss that.

I love this photo of Fletcher with his father, grandfather and great-grandfather. Four generations of Gaddy men. Don’t you love how they all have the exact same expression on their face! 

ry400

One response to “Saying Goodbye

  1. That is a wonderful photo — they DO all have the same expression!

    So sorry to hear about your loss … but happy that your children got to know him a little bit.

    All the best,

    Anne

Leave a Reply

