Walking to School

We live only blocks from the children’s preschool. But we drive. Or I should say that I drive. Raymond bikes them to school periodically. But I drive. My rationale has been that I only have 3 hours in the morning 2 days a week and so much to do during that time . . . 

Just now on The Biggest Loser (one of my favorite tv shows!) they said that only 13% of children in this country walk to school. I was shocked! They also said that 30 minutes of walking  a child to school every day can total 1000 calories a week – or a loss of 10 pounds over the course of a school year! Maybe I need to rethink things a little here. Healthier for me AND a better example for the children AND lowering our carbon footprint  . . . sounds like a no brainer, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

