Sleeping Babies

My children were still asleep when I left the house for work this morning. I wanted so desperately to go into their rooms and tickle them awake, collect my hugs and kisses before heading out the door. But they don’t have school today, and apparently they needed some extra sleep.

The National Institute of Health suggests that preschoolers should get between 10 and 13 hours of sleep per night. Since naps have gone by the wayside, F and LG sleep pretty regularly from 7pm to 7am. And it is obvious that they NEED that sleep. When they aren’t getting it, the crazies set in. This is pretty typical in children apparently, as lack of sleep presents in  kids as hyperactivity and lack of attention instead of the drowsiness one would expect. Lord knows we don’t need any more of that.

So, I let them sleep. They will be asleep when I get home tonight as well. A whole day without seeing those smiling faces, a whole day without hearing their voices, a whole day without hugs and kisses.

I hate days like this.  😦

One response to “Sleeping Babies

  1. i hate days i don’t get to see them,too–give them a kiss for me–love you–f

Leave a Reply

