Happy Birthday to me

bdaycardToday is my 39th birthday. Crazy, no? Getting mighty close to 40 now! Even crazier knowing that when my parents were this age I was in COLLEGE. I thought they were so old . . . 

It really doesn’t bother me though. 25 was a hard birthday because I was no where near where I wanted to be in my life. 30 was a little hard too, because I was so close to where I wanted to be and yet still not quite able to get a hold of it. But now? Now things are good. I’m where I want to be. I wish we had more money, wish things weren’t always so stressful, but that’s just they way life is – especially right now. When I look at the big picture, everything is perfect. I just can’t get over how lucky I am.

Birthday card from FletcherIt is Thursday, so this morning I had coffee with the girls. Then we took the kids to the park for a picnic and playtime. Then the grocery and lots of reading this afternoon. (NayNay and Grandaddy sent new books and new clothes to the kids today!) Now everyone is snug in their beds. I have a little work to wrap up and then I plan to curl up with the new book Andra gave me for my birthday (not sure I want to reveal the title, but she said it was a gift for my inner 16 year old!) Not a bad day at all.

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to me

  1. How could you have thought we were old! We were so young! Or we thought we were! But you are very lucky, I agree.

  2. feedingthefamily

    You WERE so young! But I really didn’t realize just HOW young you were (are) until much more recently.

Leave a Reply

