“I hate this day”

My daughter and I have both been in a funk lately. She, it seems, has suddenly at age 3 become a teenager – prissing and preening one second, pouting and shouting “I hate this day!” the next. If three is this difficult I loathe the thought of thirteen!

I, for my part, have been having a hard time focusing on just how wonderful my life really is. My “moods”, you know?

But this afternoon I walked outside to find Fletcher singing “Tomorrow” from Annie at the top of his lungs. Fletcher, of the quivering lip at the mere suggestion of singing. Fletcher, who is prone to pulling his shirt over his head to avoid singing. Fletcher, with his beautiful baby voice, was belting it out as loud as he could and I have never heard anything more wonderful in all my life. I rushed to get the video camera, and while I didn’t catch his spontaneous performance he did agree to sing the song for me again on tape. Sometimes you just get lucky.

Leave a Reply

