Lazy, hazy, crazy days

We are now officially on summer vacation! I am so excited to be home with the kiddos enjoying those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer!! The excitement I have felt building over the past few weeks has been squashed a bit by my grandmother’s illness (it’s only a matter of time now . . .) and the fact that Raymond is off to Italy for a month and I’m going to miss him like crazy. It will be just the kids and me all day every day . . . . that’s a good thing – as long as we don’t drive each other mad!

So, in an effort to regain my enthusiasm, I’m making a list of all the fun things we can do  – not quite 30 activities in 30 days, I’m not that ambitious. Plus, some activities (like the beach and the library) will most likely be weekly activities.  And I’m hoping we will spend many lazy days just chasing the chickens around the back yard. I’m betting we  won’t get through the whole list, but it will be fun to try!

• make Grass Heads per Ordinary Life Magic‘s beautiful example
• Wednesday story time at the library, followed by pizza lunches at Pizza Rustica
• make sidewalk “chalk” paint
thumbprint art – I used to have one of these books and loved it!
• make racing birds and set up a “track” in the backyard
• evening picnics at the beach!!
• teach Fletcher to tie knots with this nifty “tie board”
• make scented playdough
• make giant bubbles
• go to the movies! We almost never go to the theater, so it will be quite a treat for the kids
• cooking: I keep saying I want to get the kids in the kitchen more! Maybe we will try making donuts? Or this “dump” cake? And definitely need to try these fabulous play dough cookies!

We may be off to a bit of a bumpy start, but I’m really trying not to let it get me down. We have a long, hot, wonderful summer stretching out ahead of us just bursting with possibilities. I want to make the most of every drop of it!

3 responses to “Lazy, hazy, crazy days

  1. Ashley–This sounds so fun–you are such a cool mom! Can we drop Elsie off for Camp Gaddy? Beth

  2. Pingback: Grass Heads « Fletcher & Lola

Leave a Reply

