It’s only money

I am not, by nature, a terribly practical person. Despite this I have been trying very hard lately to be more practical, more frugal, to think long term over instant gratification, to see the big picture. But I find myself in a crisis of faith right now over the logic of always saving for a rainy day, always waiting. IS it the smart thing to do? The practical thing? Is there maybe something more important than being practical?

As I sit here on the eve of my Grandmother’s funeral, I come face to face with the reality that life is short. We need to make the most of every minute of it, right? Carpe diem.

So I’m going to Italy.

R. is there teaching for the month, and the chance for a week in Italy with my husband might not come again – at least not for a long time. And it’s only money, right?

I feel a little nervous about leaving F & LG, though I know they will be well taken care of by their Grandmama. I just hate to be away from them. But I will still have a long summer ahead when I return, and in all honesty they will probably not remember that I was away. But Raymond & I will remember. We love to travel and we love Italy and, though so much of our lives are now centered on the children, we really love each other.

It is not the practical decision. But I’m pretty sure it is the right one.

2 responses to “It’s only money

  1. I for one think it’s a good decision.

  2. I agree. It’s a good decision.

Leave a Reply

