Life’s a beach

The forecast for today was a heat index of 110 – perfect day for hitting the beach. We left early to beat the worst of the heat, and though I had only planned to stay for 2 hours we were having so much fun we stayed twice as long! Fletcher spent most of his time building a sandcastle with a moat full of alligators. Lola Gray, as usual, was a little fish. She and I spent a lot of time in the water, just the 2 of us. (We really don’t do enough together, just Mommy & Lola. The only thing I am looking forward to about Fletcher starting kindergarten is getting to spend more time with my best girl.) We pretended to be mermaids – Lola Gray’s mermaid name was Jewel, her favorite name at the moment, and she told me that my mermaid name was Eyebrow. Huh. Eyebrow? I’ve learned not to argue such things with her though. I can live with the name Eyebrow if it makes her happy.

Once we got Fletcher in the water, he of course had a ball and didn’t want to get out. Having the 2 of them in the water was exhausting though! They both wanted to be out in the deep water, so I had my work cut out for me. It never ceases to amaze me how different my children’s personalities are! While Fletcher clung to my arm and climbed on my back and wrapped his arms around my neck, Lola Gray was doing her best to swim as far away from me as possible! I so admire her independence, but out in the ocean it scares me to death!!

I finally had to drag the kids home, as we all got a little too much sun and it was well past lunch time, with promises that we will return to the beach every day if they want. I hope that is a promise I can keep!

Leave a Reply

