maggie and millie and molly and may

“maggie and millie and molly and may
went down to the beach (to play one day)

and maggie discovered a shell that sang

so sweetly she couldn’t remember her troubles,and



millie befriended a stranded star

who’s rays five languid fingers were;



and molly was chased by a horrible thing

which raced sideways while blowing bubbles:and



may came home with a smooth round stone

as small as a world and as large as alone.

For whatever we lose (like a you or a me)
it’s always ourselves we find in the sea.


                                                                                          ~ e.e. cummings


 

 

Life is short. I keep being reminded of this, over and over and over again. As if my grandmother’s death last month wasn’t enough (and then her sister’s death the day before my grandmother’s funeral), earlier this week my Uncle John suffered a stroke and died. Totally unexpected, totally heartbreaking for his family. Then on Thursday my dear friend’s mother was hit by a car that ran a red light, suffered a broken hip and bleeding in her brain, had emergency brain surgery and remains in the ICU. What is going on???



I have  sooooooo been needing a day like today. Tybee beach this morning, naps this afternoon, then Bonna Bella Yacht Club for dinner. I feel so lucky to be able to go and find myself again at the sea, to relax with my family, to enjoy every moment while I can.



One response to “maggie and millie and molly and may

  1. take me too!!!!!looks like so much fun–love to all–f

Leave a Reply

