the first week

Fletcher’s first week of school was a good one. It has been an adjustment though. Lola Gray and I miss him like crazy! I really thought she would enjoy the “girl time” but she asks about him constantly. The hours seem to creep along until 3:30, and then whoosh! Bedtime.

We managed to spend a few afternoons at the park, and a few playing with the neighbors, but those hours between school and bed are precious and they pass far too quickly!

On Wednesday night, at least an hour after putting the kids in bed, I was in the shower and Fletcher came into the bathroom and startled me. We both had a good laugh at the way I jumped and screamed, and then I realized he was crying! I asked him what was wrong, and he said “Nothing is wrong. I’m just happy. I love you so much, Mommy.”

Man do I love that kid.

To add to the stress of the first week of school, I have been swamped with work trying to get ready for an upcoming exhibition. I’m pleased with the work I am doing, and I think the exhibition will be a good one, but trying to work from home is tough. There is always someone who needs a snack, someone who wants a snuggle, there are always dishes to be washed and laundry to be folded and emails to be returned . . . . everything seems to take 3 times as long as it should.

I’m so glad for the three day weekend – 2 days off are just not enough! Tonight Raymond and the kids made pizza – there is nothing better than Raymond’s homemade pizza! (OK – there is better pizza in Italy, but we will have to wait until summer for that . . . and this is a pretty darn good substitute!)

Leave a Reply

