Just another Tuesday

Sometimes my girl just blows me away. I have spent so much time worrying lately about the fact that she doesn’t seem to know her letters – something Fletcher had mastered by the time he was 18 months old. I know how smart she is, I have no doubts about that, but sometimes I forget . . . Tonight she reminded me, yet again, that intelligence comes  in many forms. While I was cooking dinner, Lola got out the construction paper, scissors and glue. She worked very quietly in the playroom for a long time, and then came triumphantly into the kitchen to show me the scarecrow she had made. She was so proud of herself! And I was so proud of her!

She and Fletcher both played beautifully this afternoon. We didn’t turn on the TV all day long! I know it is a little sad that I see that as such an accomplishment . . . but I do. And the thing is, not only did we not turn on the TV but the kids never even ASKED to turn on the TV. There were just too many other fun things to do. That is what I like to see! To celebrate, ghostly mashed potatoes for dinner followed by home made caramel apples for dessert. I love Halloween!

2 responses to “Just another Tuesday

  1. Pretty cool! Love those potatoes!

  2. What a great idea, the ghostly mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

