2010 Be Out There Resolution: Know, Go, and Grow

I’m not exactly the “outdoorsy” type. But I wish I was. I want to be. I’m trying to be. And as part of that, I signed the Be Out There Resolution to know, go and grow in 2010. I’m hoping this is a resolution I can actually keep, a commitment to getting outside more, and getting my children outside in the process.

It would have been a lot easier to get started with this resolution if it hadn’t gotten so darn cold all of a sudden! OK, yes I do realize that 45 was balmy compared to what much of the country  faced  today, but for those of us in coastal Georgia it is pretty stinkin’ chilly! Regardless, we headed outside, bundled up as though we were trekking to the arctic.

We took the kids new bikes out to the McQueen’s Island Rails-to-Trails area, a 6 mile stretch on Tybee through the marsh and within sight of Ft. Pulaski. We only covered a fraction of the trail – Lola Gray was  a speed demon on her bike, despite the uneven path, but Fletcher was much slower and got really tired. (Looks like we need to work on his endurance!) It was definitely brisk, but the sky was blue and the sun was shining. Can’t ask for much more than that.

Since Fletcher started school it is definitely harder for us to get our Green Hour every day, but we aren’t going to stop trying. According to the University of Michigan, today’s kids spend a mere four to seven minutes outside each day! How is that even possible? I don’t want my children to fall into that statistic. As much as we love the new wii, as much as I love to curl up inside with a good book (or a good TV show!) there is a whole wide world out there. My New Year’s resolution, on behalf of my whole family, is to see, enjoy, respect and protect as much of it as possible.

2 responses to “2010 Be Out There Resolution: Know, Go, and Grow

  1. ah, welcome to the Wii craziness. we have to forbid it on weekdays, it is literally like heroin to chase and makes him act like a crazy person. literally. he takes complete leave of his senses after he has been playing it for a while. i told tim they must put little sublimal messagesin there, like “act completely insane tonight at the dinner table and tell your parents they are the meanest people you have ever met.” that being said, i am REALLY good at rhythm kung fu on wii fit plus! here’s to the great outdoors!

  2. Yeah, I can see the Wii become addictive – for me as much as for Fletcher!! Boxing is my new favorite thing ever. Haven’t gotten the wii fit yet . . .

Leave a Reply

