Now we are six

My dear, sweet, Super Fletcher,

Six years ago today, my world changed forever. You took my breath away the first time I saw you, the first time I held you in my arms. I loved you so much in those first hours and days that I could not possibly have imagined anything better. But it has gotten better.

With every passing year you are growing and changing and becoming ever more YOU – and you are incredible. You are smart and funny, sweet and sensitive and loving. Your energy, imagination and  curiosity blow me away. Your ability to run headlong into any situation, to always make friends, to always have fun, inspire me every day.

I have missed you so much since you started kindergarten. The days seem to pass so much more quickly now than those endless afternoons when we would walk up and down the block, you on your little horsey bike and me following protectively along behind. I can’t follow you everywhere now. You don’t need me to. There isn’t much you can’t do on your own these days. (Though you still say you are too little to make my coffee in the mornings – we need to work on that one!) I am so, so proud to be your mother, so excited to see where this amazing journey will take you.

Happy Birthday, sweet potato. Mommy loves you.

Leave a Reply

