art can change the world

Tonight the kids and I read Ballyhoo Bay, a really great little book that we happened to get in a box of Cheerios. Gotta love this free book in a cereal box thing – so much better than a cheap plastic toy! The story is really sweet, about an artist turned activist who saves a beach from being destroyed by a fancy condo development. When we finished the story we were talking about the importance of art and artists and how art can change the world. And Lola Gray looked at me and said “Artists like you, Mommy.”

🙂

My daughter called me an artist.

OK, yes, I have a Masters degree and I’m a college professor and I’ve exhibited my work all over the place . . . but this is the first time that my daughter has recognized me as something other than “Mommy.” And it felt nice.

Leave a Reply

