Racing for the cure

I “ran” my 2nd 5K this morning! I still walked more than I ran, and finished only slightly faster than the last one where I was pushing the kids in the stroller, but I don’t care.

Today’s race was the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure – and it was an incredible experience. Pink everywhere.

I can only imagine that every person there has been touched by breast cancer in some way. Tons and tons of people wore signs saying they were running in honor of, or even more heartbreakingly in memory of someone special. A mother, a grandmother, an aunt, a sister, a friend. Every one of them brought tears to my eyes.

There was a girl who couldn’t have been much more than 12 running in memory of her mother. It killed me.

It terrifies me.

But the event was really incredibly uplifting. So many people (5000 in little ol’ Savannah!!) coming together to raise money and awareness and help fine a cure. So many incredible, strong women. I was really proud to be a part of it.

I’m due for a mammogram.

I really hope that by the time my daughter is grown, races like this will be unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

