Florence

Ahhhh . . . . Florence. I can’t believe it has been 10 years since I was last in the city where I first fell in love with Italy. It was good to be back.

The weather was atrocious. Cold and rainy – at one point there was even hail! But no worries; we won’t melt! Instead we splashed in puddles and bought snazzy new jackets . . . .

And rode the coolest carousel ever, with real feathers on the horses’ heads and real horse hair tails . . .

And we just generally wore ourselves out . . .

We ate tons of good food . . . .

Including the pizza I have dreamed of for 10 years, the best pizza I have ever eaten, from Il Pizzaiuolo. In fact, we ate there twice. It did not disappoint.

And we had (also twice) hands down the best gelato around. Gelateria dei Neri was close to the apartment Raymond and I had in Florence 10 years ago, and it was every bit as fantastic as I remembered. The Riso was heavenly, but the Cioccolato Messicano Pistacchio e Peperoncino . . . words can not express!

It was incredible to be able to revisit these special places with the children. Three days was not enough, Florence. I hope it isn’t another 10 years before I see you again!

2 responses to “Florence

  1. My trip to Florence with AnnM was really one of the best trips I’ve ever taken. I’d love to go back.

  2. Pingback: Tivoli « Fletcher & Lola

Leave a Reply

