My kid could paint that

Labor Day weekend was, despite the fact that Raymond and I both had tons of work to do on upcoming exhibitions, a wonderful and relaxing break from the back-to-school hustle. The weather was cooler (and I know that saying 90 is cool sounds crazy, but compared to the 110+ we had a few weeks ago, it felt amazing outside!) so we spent much of the weekend in the backyard. Raymond worked in his studio, I worked on sanding boards and mounting photographs, Fletcher read and Lola Gray painted . . .

Raymond and I watched the documentary film My Kid Could Paint That a few days ago, so it was funny when, totally unprompted, Lola Gray asked for materials and then worked diligently on her painting for hours, telling me how she might need to work on it every day for a while before it is finished. The photo above is step one in the process – I’ll be curious to see if she goes back to it! She wants to put it in my exhibition, which opens in just over a week, and says people will probably like it better than my photographs. She also told me painting is a better form of art than photography, so Raymond feels his work is done.

When we weren’t working, we found time for a fun little science experiment . . .

By the way, I looked up the reason that baking soda and vinegar create this fabulous effect, and it turns out it is pretty interesting! The acetic acid in the vinegar reacts with the sodium bicarbonate in the baking soda to create carbonic acid. But, the carbonic acid is very unstable and immediately falls apart into carbon dioxide and water. The bubbles are the carbon dioxide escaping, and because carbon dioxide is heavier than air it gives that flowing effect. Pretty cool, no?

We also found time for one last trip to the pool . . .

and one last Sand Gnats game . . .

I guess summer is truly over now. I’m sad to see it go, but ready to bring on the pumpkins. Is it too early to start decorating for Halloween???

3 responses to “My kid could paint that

  1. i really actually like lola’s painting.

  2. I love, love, love that first picture.

    I was having a hard time thinking of saying goodbye to Summer (I think this has been probably my very favorite summer), and was refusing to do so, and now all of a sudden I’m rearranging shelves and thinking of picking apples….

Leave a Reply

