Reflections: Together We Can

This year, the kids are going to participate in the PTA Reflections program, an arts program encouraging students to explore a theme through visual arts, writing, dance and music. This year’s theme is “Together We Can . . . ”

Entries are due soon, so the kids and I sat down this afternoon to work on their pieces. They both decided to take photographs, which surprised me a bit since Lola is so pro-painting/drawing. But we had a great time, and I think they came up with some great shots. Now we just have to narrow it down to a single entry for each of them . . . .

Lola’s interpretation was: Together we can “just hang out.” She didn’t skip a beat, just grabbed a few of her favorite stuffies, hung them from the freezer handle, and grabbed the camera.

I think I like this last shot best, but I’m not sure if Lola will agree with me.

Fletcher’s interpretation of the theme was “Together we can explore new places.” He decided that maybe, working together, we could even discover new worlds with aliens on them! That led him to take his Star Wars figures into the back yard to photograph the aliens. He was so serious about it – and he really wants his piece to be picked to move on into the regional competition! I’m not sure where he gets that competitive streak . . .

Lola Gray also “wrote” one of her songs while we were taking photos. It was all about things we can do together, and how when we work together we can go faster and build taller . . . I’m going to try and get her to sing it again tomorrow and will try to write it down so she can enter it as a poem.

8 responses to “Reflections: Together We Can

  1. Painting is better than photo!

  2. I’m very proud of Raymond for letting Fletcher play with his vintage Star Wars toys. Fletcher’s welcome to play with our antique super hero toys any time (as long as Camille gets a turn with that R2D2!).

    • Lee, there are days when I think Raymond might take all the Star Wars stuff back and keep it for himself! 🙂 But of course Camille is welcome to play with R2D2 anytime – I think there might actually be 3 of them!!

  3. Were those Star Wars stuff? I thought they was natural wings. You get competitive huntin birds. Girls got lots o talent. Feed m right. No cryn, just fryn.

  4. Very, very cool.
    I think I like her first shot best.

  5. It’s nice that they are both creative in their own way.

  6. Pingback: Lola Gray: photographer extraordinaire | Fletcher & Lola

Leave a Reply

