This is why I do it

This morning at breakfast, Lola was bemoaning the fact that she had to go to school while I got to stay home and do anything I wanted. All. Day. Long.

Uh huh. All that fun stuff like grocery shopping and laundry and trying to clean up this disaster of a house. And oh yeah, the hours of PTA work I have ahead of me to make sure we are on track for Thursday’s meeting and Read-a-Thon and Book Fair and Reflections and Make a Difference Day  .  .  .

And the homemade snack for Lola’s pre-K class for tomorrow.
And organizing the 1st grade Halloween party.
And sewing Fletcher’s Halloween costume and Lola’s ballet slipper.
And my actual job! Let’s don’t forget that I do still have a full-time job on top of this. It’s enough to make me pull my hair out!

So why do I do it? The obvious answer would be that I can’t say no. (And there may be something to that.) But the better answer came from Fletcher this morning, quietly eating his oatmeal while Lola moaned. He looked up at me, smiled with his mouth full, and said:

“Mommy, I’m really proud of all the work you do at my school.”

And there you have it.

2 responses to “This is why I do it

  1. Wow! How nice to be appreciated!

  2. Yaknow life can be easier with a quick stop at my place. No need to raid the coop. Just pull in to th drive thru. ‘Member, no cryn, just fryn. Piece. Or peace. I’ll take a leg.

    The Colonel

Leave a Reply

