not quite ‘real time’

My friends like to tease me about the speed with which I am able to post my photos online – no sooner are we home from an event than I have posted the photos of it. Practically ‘real time’ they say. But the thing is, if I don’t get my posts up right away . . . well they often just don’t happen. Life keeps moving, and suddenly you find yourself having missed the opportunity to document some amazing aspects of it. That has happened to me this past week, and now I find myself struggling with how to tell you about it all!

We had a beautiful Christmas. There were cookies for Santa, an angel and a wise man in a candlelit Christmas Eve service, shrimp and grits, christmas poppers with funny paper hats, tracking of Santa’s progress on NORAD and stockings hung by the chimney with care.



Christmas day brought Legos and fairy houses and art supplies and a new scooter, oysters with friends, and snuggling by the fire even though it was a balmy 65 outside.

And then, the next day, snow! Flurries at least. Lola Gray spent half an hour running around the yard in her jammies and coat trying to catch snowflakes in an ice filled box – to keep in the freezer for next year. It never stuck, but still . . . snow! For the second year in a row!

Then we were off to Virginia! More snow! Grandparents! Aunts and Uncles and cousins galore!








And my dear, amazing Grandmother Sophie celebrated her 95th birthday. Ninety five. Can you imagine?





New Year’s Eve found us celebrating with new friends, kids running through the yard in the late night fog and firework haze, shooting off bottle rockets and roman candles till well past midnight. (I didn’t bring my camera, can you believe it?? I’m trying to not always look at life through the lens . . . )New Year’s Day brought old friends for brunch as a whole new year stretched out in front of us, full of brilliant possibility.

Each of those events deserves a post of it’s very own. But now winter break is over . . . tomorrow the kids are back to school and I am not far behind them. It’s time to move forward, pack up the old year and focus on the one ahead. I promise to try to post more promptly in the future but really, who am I kidding? Sometimes it is more important (and more fun) to just spend some time doing things even if it means you have to play catch-up later. And that’s ok by me.

Leave a Reply

