high horse

I have spent way too much time today worked up over things that I should just leave alone . . . . but I have such trouble leaving things alone. Today my children’s school is having McDonald’s night, and the thought makes me ill. Forget the fact that the food is crazy bad for you (more sugar in the oatmeal than a Snickers bar?? Really?), forget the fact that my kids are won’t actually eat McDonald’s (Fletcher won’t eat meat, Lo only likes the Happy Meal toys not the actual food), forget the fact that for our $20 meal the school would only see about $2, forget the fact that this fundraiser falls on the same day as the kickoff for the chocolate bar fundraiser that I also despise . . . and what are we left with? We are left with the fact that I’m going to have a battle on my hands tonight, and I’m not looking forward to it. Maybe I should give in, just this once. But I can’t. That horse is just too damned high for me to get off. I want my children to understand that sometimes it is important to take a stand, even if it makes you unpopular.

You see what I mean about having a hard time letting things go??

{. . . deep breath . . .}

Instead, I am trying to focus once again on the simple things in my world that are good and happy – like the first brilliant green spring leaves unfolding on my fig tree.

2 responses to “high horse

  1. I love you for your compassion. Stand by your beliefs. As much as I would love a birthday hug tonight I will be upset if you come. If you give in on this you are opening the door on many other opportunities to give in. Be strong and know you are doing the right thing for you and your family!

  2. It really does send mixed messages to have McDonald’s night and a choco-bar fundraiser a week after being celebrated for our school’s health and fitness initiatives. I’m not happy with it, either.

Leave a Reply

