Brag time

Warning: If you are one of the people reading this blog who think I brag about my kids too much, then please stop reading right now because I am about to brag again!

Fletcher had quite a day today! First, we found out that he won first place (and second place!) for Savannah-Chatham schools in 2nd grade Musical Composition for the Reflections Program. My guess is that his was the only entry, but showing up is half the battle, right?

Second, he brought home a new Lexile score (that complicated gauge of reading level that I don’t even begin to understand.) The target score for the end of 2nd grade is between 300 and 500, but Fletcher’s score is already at 992. He has gone up almost 150 points in 2 months. I’m not really sure what that means, but I’m proud of him.

And finally, the thing Fletcher himself was most proud of accomplishing today, he earned his purple belt in violin this morning! Ok, yes, I know that the whole belt thing is really for karate but I guess his teacher needed a way to encourage improvement. Apparently, only one other child in the class scored as high! I know he has been improving lately, but I have to say I was a little surprised by this accomplishment.

Here are some videos from a little concert by the Christmas tree tonight. Enjoy!

 

3 responses to “Brag time

  1. Awesome! Go Fletcher! What a great day- makes you really appreciate your role in shaping such a wonderful little soul, doesn’t it?!?!?!?

  2. That’s great! I loved his mini concert too – way to go Fletcher!

  3. Loved the concerts, especially the move at the end of Jolly Old St Nick.

Leave a Reply

