Yesterday

I had a to-do list a mile long, as I do on most Tuesdays. It always seems my days “off” from work are busier than the days when I am teaching. But yesterday, I hardly marked anything off my list at all.

Instead, I took a long walk with my children. I visited with my friends at the park while our kids played. And when we came home, we decided we needed to play some more, chatting with neighbors, riding bikes and scooters and skateboards until well after dark. And after dinner, when we should have been rushing upstairs to bed or cleaning up the dishes, we sat instead in the livingroom and listened to Fletcher practice violin and Lola Gray read books to her baby doll. I am amazed by both of them.

It seems like so much of life is rush, rush, rush these days when really what makes us happy are long, lazy afternoons with friends and long, lazy evenings at home.

One response to “Yesterday

  1. Sounds like a great day! So happy to see your puppy!

Leave a Reply

