A post I don’t want to write

I keep sitting down to write about my dear Grandmother Sophie, but I haven’t been able to do it. It’s been a week now, and I still just can’t process it. My logical brain knows that it was time: she had 96 beautiful years on this planet and I am incredibly lucky to have had her in my life for so long.

But my birthday was this past Monday, and she didn’t call. She always called me on my birthday.  And while my logical brain knows she is isn’t suffering anymore, knows that it was time . . . that hasn’t kept my heart from breaking.

I just really miss her.

2 responses to “A post I don’t want to write

  1. So tough Ashley! My grandmother is about to turn 90 this next week and I know I will be facing the same feelings about her in the near future. What a gift those yearsof having her to know were to you and your kids!

  2. Ashley I am so sorry. I do not look forward to the day that either of my grandmothers pass away. They are both in their 80’s. Brody and I are very attached to both of them.
    Hugs from us both.

Leave a Reply

