Burlington, VT

Oh man – I can not believe it has been nearly a month since I last posted! It seems that after Acadia I just couldn’t get it together enough to keep up with everything. I’ll admit it. I was tired. But please don’t take the blog silence as an indication of a quiet end to July! It was impossible to top Acadia, which must go down as one of my favorite places on the planet, but there were still more adventures to be had!

After Acadia we spent the night at a hotel in Portland for some much needed showers. We were able to drive into Freeport for dinner that night with my friend Jennifer and her three beautiful girls. Jen and I met freshman year at Mount Holyoke a million years ago, but she looks just the same – despite having teenage children!

The next day we were on the road again and headed to Burlington, Vermont where my Grandmother Sophie grew up. As far as Fletcher and Lola Gray were concerned, the whole point of visiting Vermont was to tour Ben & Jerry’s. For me, the highlight was finding the house where my grandmother was born and the cemetery where my great-grandparents are buried. I never met them, but somehow that didn’t matter. It felt good to visit. I only wish I had been able to make this trip while my grandmother was still alive . . .

The biggest surprise of the visit was when we happened upon a violin store in downtown Burlington and walked away with a new violin for Fletcher. He was just about ready for a bigger size, and Lola was ready to move up to his old one, and with fiddle camp just a few weeks away the timing seemed right. We tried to talk Fletcher into getting the concert grade violin, a small upgrade in terms of sound, finish and price, but he wouldn’t budge. He knew exactly which violin he wanted. It was a bit like visiting Olivander’s for a new wand – the violin picked him and once that happened there was no going back!

Leave a Reply

