Climbing the walls

For Fletcher’s 9th birthday party, we wanted something low-key, with just his closest friends. An afternoon at the Savannah Climbing Co-op fit the bill perfectly. I was amazed by my little monkeys! Both Fletcher and Lola Gray took to the wall right away and did an amazing job. Even Raymond got into the act and scaled a wall or two.

Those are pet rocks as party favors the kids are holding in the last photo here. I thought I was so clever to come up with that to continue the rock climbing theme – that is until we headed home for cake and the rocks started flying around my house! Oh well. Nothing was broken, and everyone had a good time.

The cake continued the rock theme as well, with chocolate rocks covering the top of the cake. It was possibly the ugliest cake I have ever made, but Fletcher really wanted me to make a 14 layer cake. I only made it to 11 layers, but I think this is the closest I will come to earning my “southern girl” badge for cake making – it took ALL day and still turned out lopsided. But I tried. (I had decided not to try, but then F came home from school on Thursday with an elaborate drawing of his birthday party, complete with a very tall cake showing all 14 individual layers. After that, I had to make the cake!)

Man do I love this kid. There isn’t much I wouldn’t try for him if he asked.

4 responses to “Climbing the walls

  1. Boy, what an awesome idea! Love the cake too! Where is the climbing coop?

  2. Looks like a fun place and the cake looked great!

    • Thanks! Wish you could have been here. The cake only lasted 2 days after the party, so I guess that means they liked it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

