First stay-up-late-on-a-school-night concert!

bandofhorsesMonday night we took Fletcher and Lola to an acoustic performance by Band of Horses. Raymond and I saw them a few months back in a fantastically loud, crowded, tiny club that made me feel like I was 20 years old again and left my ears ringing for days. But I think sitting in the balcony of the beautiful Trustees theater with my babies was even better. I loved the acoustic show. I loved the fact that we could see the band’s children dancing and playing in the wing backstage. I loved how fascinated Fletcher was with the opening act’s pedal steel and how I can totally imagine him playing on that stage himself someday. I even loved how Lola “listened with her eyes closed” and her head on Raymond’s knee. We bought the tickets months ago, before we realized just how hard things would get for us in January and February. If we had known, we never would have done it.

I’m really glad we didn’t know.

Leave a Reply

