Life – moving fast

I’m pretty sure I’ve used the Ferris Bueller quote here before, but it keeps popping into my head these days. “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you might miss it.” Sums up our family life perfectly.

Adjusting to the new school year hasn’t been easy. Fletcher adores middle school, but the work load is tougher and learning time management . . . well that’s not easy to do. And Lola’s 4th grade drama! The struggle is real, don’t ever doubt it.

I haven’t posted anything in ages because, honestly, I have felt like life is just one endless night of homework after another. But then, I tend to forget that the whole point of this blog is to remind me of the little things that make this journey one worth taking. And every time I stop and look backwards, the monotony of the day to day seems to fade and those beautiful moments emerge. Those moments are what life is all about, right? And while I still hate homework, I realize there is still a lot of beauty in my life.

In the past two months we have had lots of early morning walks to the bus stop, lots of late nights finishing up homework. But there have also been adventures with the Boy Scouts, a visit to Alabama and a visit from NayNay in Savannah. Lola Gray was inducted into the school Safety Patrol and took her first cooking class (she’s been making excellent pancakes and muffins ever since.) Both kids were extras in a movie being filmed in Savannah. And my dear Nicole spent a long weekend visiting with me and watching movies at the Savannah Film Festival.

So, I’m trying to accept the fact that, for right now, our lives aren’t going to slow down. But that’s ok, as long as I stop and look around every once in a while.

 

banana

 

Leave a Reply

