Daily Archives: April 5, 2010

All or nothing?

It seems so much of life these days is being broken down into all or nothing, one way or the other, no middle ground. So it shouldn’t continue to surprise me, really, to learn that things I think are so obvious and good (eating well, turning off the tv) are, well, not seen that way by everyone.

But it does surprise me.

I came across a great blog post the other day on UrbanMamas.com called The cult of spring: Perspectives on mamas’ need for nature. The author is responding to an article she read called “Guilt Trip into the Woods” railing against the eco movement as yet another way to make parents feel incompetent and lacking. I’ll spare you the blow by blow, but read the posts. Cafe Mama Sara Gilbert offers a thoughtful commentary on the original article, and I agree with pretty much everything she says. It is an interesting argument on both sides. I am certainly not a fan of dogmatic parenting or anyone telling me I must do this or can’t do that if I want to be a good parent. The great thing about parenting is that there are so many different ways to be good at it! There are always going to be people who take things to extremes. But do we need to throw the baby out with the bathwater?

The thing that struck me most was that the Guilt Trip author says something along the lines of why should I bother to take my kid outside when he would rather draw comic strips than daisies. Really? Does it have to be all or nothing? I mean, most of the time when my kids are outside they aren’t dissecting worms or studying rock formations. Most of the time they are playing Bakugans or pretending to be Pokeman trainers or wizards from Hogwarts. Most of the time we sit in the hammock and read – not books about nature necessarily, just books (often about Pokeman trainers or wizards from Hogwarts – are you seeing a trend here?) Most of the time there is swinging. Most of the time there are forts and battles and water fights with the hose. Most of the time there are popsicles.

The nature part, that just sort of seeps in around the edges.

And I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.

I have said it before, but I was not by any stretch an “outdoorsy” kind if kid and I am not an “outdoorsy” kind of mama. I like air-conditioning and high heels and my computer. I dislike bugs and only enjoy hiking if I don’t have to carry anything (and there aren’t any bugs and it isn’t too hot!) But my mother, to her credit and knowing full well I would rather be in bed reading, was pretty good at pushing us out the door and saying “Go play!” I imagine a fair amount of that was to get us out of her hair, but I see no fault in that either. I do it too.

I think the thing I like so much about our time outside is that it offers breathing room. It gives us the time and space to process, to let our minds wander. So much of our lives these days are structured and scheduled and hectic. We spend so much time rushing from one activity or event into another that it all becomes a blur, none of it is really absorbed. We need some white space. Creativity happens in those moments of quiet, of boredom, of nothingness. When I peek into the backyard and see Lola Gray hanging upside-down on the swing drawing circles in the dirt, or Fletcher stretched out in the hammock staring at the sky, I know that connections are being made. They might look bored to an outside observer but in truth they are quietly, intensively engaged. Even if it only lasts a moment.

The other night I was tucking Fletcher in and giving him one last snuggle and he sleepily said “Mama, my favorite tree bloomed today.”

He has a favorite tree.

And it bloomed.

And he noticed. And he drifted off to sleep thinking about it.

And I thought he was just playing Bakugans out there.

Ready for summer . . . .

Spring Break killed me. I LOVED having my babies home every day. Loved that we could just run around and play and relax and not have to worry about being anywhere or doing anything we didn’t want to do. It was only 2 days, really, since I had to work on the other days, but I wanted to devour those days, wanted to wrap myself up in them and pretend they would last forever.

Today it is back to school for everyone. For a while, anyway. It won’t be long now until we pack up and jet off for more exotic locals, and I can not wait!!!! If anyone doesn’t know yet, we will be heading first to London (to visit the Queen. Oh wait! Not that Queen! My sister, Boo. 🙂 ) and then on to Rome for a month while R. teaches a summer course. Then back to London once more before finally heading home. Can you stand it??

52 days and counting! I’ve been thinking about it obsessively (the build up to these trips is almost as much fun as the actual thing, don’t you agree?) Shoes seem to be my top priority right now, both for myself and the kids. We all will be doing a lot more walking than we are used to, and on age old uneven cobblestone streets to boot, so we need comfy shoes.

Maybe these for the Lola Gray?

Or something like this for Fletcher?

I don’t really know . . . I want something that will be comfy, give them lots of support, dry quickly (just in case) and not be hideously ugly or horribly expensive. Is this a pipe dream? If anyone has advice on the subject I would LOVE to hear it!

And then, of course, there is the issue of what to pack for the kiddos. Not clothes. Clothes are going to be easy (for the kids at least – thank goodness for hand-me-downs!!) I’m talking entertainment. For close to 6 weeks we are going to be away from home, away from the buckets and buckets and buckets of toys and Legos and puzzles and dolls – and away from the television!

I have loaded my iPhone with e-books to read to them – everything from Pinocchio to Alice in Wonderland to Rudyard Kipling and Kate DiCamillo. No pictures, which is sometimes an issue for Lola, but soooo much easier than lugging a dozen books around with us! We also have DVDs to watch on the computer and a few TV episodes for the iPhone, plus the Leapsters if we decide to take them (I’m leaning towards not, but could change my mind), so we obviously won’t be completely unplugged. But I’m hoping that we will settle into a routine where we gather our stimulation and entertainment from the environment around us rather than artificial input. Journals/sketchbooks and a camera for each child, a favorite lovey to snuggle with, a few comic books, and perhaps a very small bag of Legos . . . do we really need to take anything else?

I want to start getting us ready for the experience (and I do mean us – I know I’m guilty of feeding the kids bad habits from time to time) by practicing a few things:

• Walking – Lola Gray is the worst about this. If she is bored, after 30 seconds she says her legs are tired and she can’t walk any more. But she is way too big to be carried. We need to try walking to school more often and other little things to build endurance.

• Table manners – We are going to be eating out a lot more, and when we are in Italy the kids will be joining us from time to time with groups of other adults. I’m not expecting them to carry on adult conversation for 4 hours, as meals in Italy are want to drag on a bit, but they do need to be able to sit quietly and eat or entertain themselves. At the very least, they need to learn to stay in their seats and keep their feet off the table, right? Fortunately they are both good about trying new foods, and it will be easy to find vegetarian options in Italy. The food is maybe my favorite part of travel, so I really hope the kids will be as excited about meals each day as I am!

• Gallery/Museum conduct – Conduct. That sounds strict, doesn’t it? Are you picturing forced marches through stuffy museums with no talking or touching allowed? Don’t. I know this trip is not going to be filled with hour after hour in museums and churches the way past trips have been. Honestly, even I get tired of that after a (very short) while! The kids are only 4 and 6 after all. But I do want to take them to as many churches and museums as possible, even if only for short visits. They are pretty good about this already, but I think we will be doing some practice runs with visits to local museums and gallery openings just to reinforce the issue.

There are probably a million things I should be thinking about and planning for that have not even crossed my mind . . . Oh well! 52 days and counting!!